Thursday, 11 February 2010

Facebook Privacy & Security Settings


Changing all of your Privacy Settings to "Only Friends" will maximise privacy and limit the opportunity for a potential exploit of vulnerability to be used. TIP: Navigate into settings then privacy settings. You have the ability to make anything private. I strongly recommend changing all setting to private

Making friends private

By default friends are visible to all. Click on the little pencil icon next to your friends list and click "Show Friend List to everyone" this will remove the green check mark. Only accepted friends will have the ability to view your Facebook friends.


Making albums private

Proceed to the album, then click on "Edit Photos" then on "Edit Info" and then below "Privacy" choose "Customize" and add the people you want to block from seeing your album.

Each album has options on who can view it. You can choose:


Privacy: Who can see this?

  • Everyone
  • Friends of Friends
  • Only Friends

Privacy: Who can see this?
  • Everyone
  • Friends of Friends
  • Only Friends

Customize
  • Everyone on Facebook
  • Friends of Friends
  • Only Friends
  • Some Friends
  • Only Me

The last option adds the most privacy "Only Me" is exactly as intended for your eyes only. The album will show up on your profile for you, but no other person looking at your profile page will be able to see it anywhere.

You also have the ability to block certain people as well.

It is important to mention that they may be able to see photos if you tag them.





Add To Stumble Add To Technorati Add To Del.icio.us Add to Digg Add To Facebook Add To Yahoo Add To Google Bookmarks Add To Furl Add To Twitter Add To last.fm Add To Flickr Add To Linked In Feed of http://www.webexploits.co.uk/

0 comments: on "Facebook Privacy & Security Settings"

Post a Comment